But Theater World Awards Come Thru

Link: Theatre World Awards Home.

At an annual ceremony and during an afternoon party attended by former winners and invited members of the theatre community, six actresses and six actors are presented with a Theatre World Award for their Debut Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production.

The Theatre World Award remains the oldest one given for a debut theatre performance on On or Off-Broadway.

The contribution the Award has made to the theatre is incaluable. It is not a competition and is only given once. Because it is given for a debut performance, it encourages and inspires newcomers to the stage to continue to pursue their dream. It is freely given at a time when encouragement is so necessary in an industry known more for rejection than reception.

This year’s award winners are:

de’Adre Aziza, Passing Strange
Cassie Beck, Drunken City
Daniel Breaker, Passing Strange
Ben Daniels, Les Liaisons Dangereuses
Deanna Dunagan, August: Osage County
Hoon Lee, Yellow Face
Alli Mauzey, Cry-Baby
Jenna Russell, Sunday in the Park with George
Mark Rylance, Boeing-Boeing
Loretta Ables Sayre, South Pacific
**Jimmi Simspson, The Farnsworth Invention**
Paulo Szot, South Pacific

The Theatre World Award winners are chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee, which is comprised of Peter Filichia (, Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (, Frank Scheck (New York Post), Michael Sommers (Newhouse Papers), Doug Watt (Critic Emeritus, New York Daily News), Linda Winer (New York Newsday), and coordinated by Peter Filichia, Theatre World Editor John Willis, and Theatre World Associate Editor Ben Hodges.

But Theater World Awards Come Thru Read More »